Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer


Meet Your Commissioners

The three County Commissioners constitute the chief governing body of the County. The statutory authority of the Commissioners is primarily of an administrative nature with legislative or policy-making powers. The County Commissioners are vested with the selective policy-making authority to provide certain local services and facilities on a county-wide basis. Administrative powers and duties of County Commissioners encompass registration and elections, assessment of persons and property, human services, veterans’ affairs, the appointment of county personnel, and fiscal management. As managers of fiscal affairs, County Commissioners are responsible for the adoption of County budgets, assessment of property, levying of taxes, and borrowing of funds for the construction of capital projects. They are also required by law to appoint a Chief Clerk, a County Solicitor, a Chief County Assessor, and other County personnel. The Commissioners are elected for four-year terms, with the terms of the three Commissioners running simultaneously. 


Upcoming Meetings

July 2024
No event found!
Prev Next
Skip to content